God Has a Way

For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts. – Isaiah 55:8-9

It is natural for us to question life and even God Himself, when we go through a time of pain and suffering.  God understands this, He knows what how we are formed (Psalm 103:14).  It has occurred to me that I have now gone through the psychological stages of grief — twice — in one month.  Anger, unbelief, disappointment, sadness, and finally, finally, acceptance.  

This is not an easy process, and this is a lonesome process.  It’s hard to express what we feel during those moments, and it’s even harder for people to understand us during those times.

But finally, I have reached the acceptance. 

During this struggle, I heard the Holy Spirit gently answering my questions, patiently waiting for me to come around. My heart cried, my thoughts searched for reasons so that at least, I could understand. But nothing. And the Holy Spirit in me, thank God, was lovingly holding my hand while I was going through.

He took me to this place where I finally accept the fact. Beyond acceptance, however, I now see that all things work together for good for those who love God (Romans 8:28). I start seeing now the good side of the situation that caused pain in the first place.  I see now, the benefit.  So, I thank God.  Indeed, His thoughts are not my thoughts, and His ways are not my ways (Isaiah 55:8-9).

God has His ways of getting things done, and everything that He does is wonderfully done (Psalm 139:14).  I am grateful that He gave me His Spirit, so that I can walk through these hard times. Amen.

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. No one welcomes pain, suffering, problems or trials of any sort, but with hindsight, we can look back on them and realise that they were times of great spiritual growth and we can sincerely praise God for the way He enabled us to use the opportunities.

    We serve an incredibly amazing God who undertakes for us each step of the way as we trust Him.

Leave a Reply

